What an eventful life I have had.

From the outside looking in, I appear to be an average guy. I have a wife, six kids, two dogs, a cat and an average size home. I live close to my parents and visit them often. I have a cool job, not extraordinary, with descent pay and good security. But, if I take you deeper, if I tell you of the journey I have made and let you get a glimpse behind the curtain you will wonder how I became ordinary.

I have traveled in 30 of 50 U.S. states, 1 U.S. territory, and 2 foreign countries. I have crossed the U.S. from coast to coast 4 times. To some  people this may seem pretty lame, to those who have barely traveled to neighboring states, this will be cool. It is one of my life’s goals to travel to all 50 states, and to several more countries. (to include Norway, England, and Italy)

I served on-board a U.S. Submarine and worked with nuclear reactors. Traveling to unknown depths of the ocean may not be your thing, but you have to admit it is cool. The teamwork skills I learned while on the submarine have carried me through-out my life and the electrical skill I learned helped me transition from sailor to electrician and then to firefighter.

You will remember the 2002 Olympics in SLC, but what you may not remember is the awesome closing ceremony fireworks, but I do. I helped set them up and was 1 mile south of the stadium when they launched them. There were fireworks launching 360 degrees around me. I believe I had one of the very best spots to watch them. There really is nothing like feeling and hearing the ballistic pressure of a large firework going up. The show is by far the best one I have ever seen and by far the best one I have ever helped produce.

I have been a nursing student, yes I have. I wanted to be a surgical nurse and so I got a nudge from a VA nurse to come see the work environment, which I did. While there I got to attend an open-heart surgery. I watched as they cracked his chest and slowly separated the chest wall lining from the heart and lungs. I was only 6″ away from his head as I watched his heart pump in his open chest, it was simply mesmerizing.

I am a firefighter, and all the cool and maybe not so cool things that go with that. I have crawled in a burning room, fire blazing all around me, ears burning from the heat. (yes I think this is cool) I have seen aircraft come in with problems that very few people are able to get close to. Although not really cool, I have seen people in different forms of death, from the slow medical conditions to the tragic accidents to the horrific violent deaths. Again, not cool, but few people get to see this side of life.

These are but a few of the things which define who I am. I may appear ordinary, but I am not!

Until next time,

Don’t stand in Fire.

~ by firemantony on September 18, 2011.

3 Responses to “What an eventful life I have had.”

  1. Yeah, the sum of your memories, experiences, influences… They are covered and neatly packaged in the hair and skin and clothing and ttle that is TONY. And does not adequately describe the amazingness that is you. Loved this quick glimpse. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tony, It sounds like you have a pretty interesting life, I didn’t think you did so much stuff in your life, I think it is awesome! and Keep up the Traveling to the states! Down here we sure like to get visitors from Canada eh? (:

  3. Tony wow never knew this stuff. You sir get my respect mainly for having 6 kids and for saying screw my life and saving people in burning buildings, ect… And for being a cool guy all around. For that sir I really really respect you. OHH your also a great guild leader.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

