Equipment checks.. …. Really?

Murphy’s Law: Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong, and usually at the most inopportune moment. This law can be minimized by being prepared for something to go wrong so you can adapt quickly. Firefighters do this through the use of equipment checks.

Firefighters everyday do daily checks on their equipment, they check the water and fuel in their trucks (it would be really embarrassing to make it to the fire without water in the tank, or not show up at all because you ran out of fuel), they check the engine oil, lights, horn. They check their structural gear and SCBAs daily to make sure they will be protected from the fire. They also do weekly checks of powered equipent. (Jaws of Life, chain saws, portable generators, etc) All this in an effort to perform better on a scene. Imagine how bad it would be if you needed to cut a hole in a wall to save someone’s life but didn’t have a saw to do it quickly. Yes, I know, we would just take a sledge maul or pick ax and make the hole manually, but still.

I take this same mentality into World of Warcraft with my raiding toons. I check everyday before a raid or dungeon that I have my own supply of food and drink in my bags. I make sure my rogue has a full stock of poisons, I make sure my shaman has Scrolls of Fortitude. (dang you blizzard, why no stamina buff for shamans, all the other healers have them) I do these checks everyday with out fail, because I don’t want to look stupid when my dps drops because I don’t have poisons, or I run out of mana because I don’t have anything to drink. I also do weekly checks, usually on Monday, of Fish Feasts for raid, Flasks, Potions. I also take a look at my gear weekly, just to make sure I have gems/enchants on everything. (very rarely, but occasionally I will catch myself without these things. Also catch myself wearing a PvP cloak on my PvE set occasionally, or a fishing hat. lol) These things ensure I come to the raid/dungeon prepared. These things keep me from looking stupid. Occasionally these things save a life. (albeit a pretend one)

Another check you should make is to think realistically about where you are in your raid progression and study up on the raids. I know this doesn’t really fall into the equipment check area, but the Boy Scout motto “Be Prepared” applies still.

Do these checks and you will help prevent Mr. Murphy’s damage. You will look like a hero because you are prepared.

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the fire.

~ by firemantony on April 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
