Semper Gumby!!

The first time I heard this, my then fire chief dad was talking on the training ground to a bunch of old firefighters. He was trying to teach them a new tactic and they just didn’t want to do it. They had done the same thing for so long that they just didn’t want to change, they were rigid, un-wavering. Of course I was just a kid, not even big enough to pull up the suspenders on my dads bunkers back in those days. I didn’t understand either part of the phrase but those old guys did. They decided to trust my dad and try it his way. The tactic my dad was trying to teach, positive pressure ventilation, is now  a standard among a lot of fire departments. My dad had learned the tactic from a friend and decided to give it a try, he saw that it worked and decided to pass it along.

So lets break down this phrase. Semper, you may have heard in the Marine corp motto, Semper fi. Semper means always in latin. Gumby on the other hand has a more interesting source. Gumby was a flexible green claymation character from the 1960’s and 70’s, who rode a red horse named Pokey. So put together this meant “always flexible”. What my dad was trying to tell those old firefighters was that they needed to stay flexible so that they could judge for themselves whether or not the tactic was better or worse than what they were used to.

This sometimes happens to your raid groups. You run the raid the same way for so long that you forget to be flexible. You forget that there are other ways to do it. You should always try to be willing to try new tactics, you should always try to learn new stuff. Don’t be afraid to go a bit outside your comfort zone. I know that when I started healing it was not only uncomfortable, I flat didn’t like it. I would have given anything not to do it, but I stayed flexible because my raid team needed me as a healer. I can’t think of any better way to raid now. What could be better than playing  whack-a-mole on a screen while you dance your toon out of trouble. The challenge of playing a healer is awesome. (by the way, I love the challenge of tough to heal fights, like HoR or Lady Deathwhisper) I now find it hard to go back to tanking when I am asked to play around on my druid because the personality is different, the challenge is different (but I still do it, even though I need more practice)

Stay flexible in your tactics, stay flexible in your role. Continue to learn from different challenges. Do this and you will find fun in the game.

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the Fire.

~ by firemantony on April 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
