Sometimes it sucks to be a firefighter!

I have worked as a firefighter long enough to have failed at it a few times. I have seen dead people more times than I care to count. Some of the people I couldn’t save haunt me a bit when I think deeply about my career. One of my first days filling in as a truck captain comes to mind. It was a wet spring night and a late night call came across the phone that there was a fire at a gas station in our mutual aid area. Little did I know the fire was a double homicide/suicide. A father who was suffering from depression decided to take not only his life but the life of his two children. You would think that something like this would be enough to make a guy quit as a firefighter, but there was nothing I could do that would have changed the outcome. Instead I used this event to launch myself. I used this to help me care more about the people I serve in the community. It helped solidify my desire to be a firefighter. I just wanted to let you know that even firefighters wipe.

I have seen a lot of people suffer in-game with wipe after wipe and not get to worried about it. I have also seen people wipe once and drop group. It’s up to you, be a wimp, give up the first time you wipe or you can let the wipe solidify the fact that you are better, that you are resilient, that you are strong.

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the fire.

~ by firemantony on May 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
