Gaming with Friends.

As a firefighter, the word “Brotherhood” gets used a lot. I think it would be safe to say that brotherhood is a very accurate description. Unfortunately I did not grow up with a brother, just one sister, but my feelings for my fellow firefighters in the fire house are a lot the same. I am often annoyed by things they do. There are some firefighters that are just miserable to work with, but these guys are my friends. We spend a lot of time together, share meals together, and even clean up after each other. We watch each others backs, we protect each other, and we treat each other with respect.

This kinship can, and I believe should, be brought to your gaming team. people on your team should be treated with respect, even if they are failing. Even if they are miserable to compete with. Lack of respect saps the fun out of the game. You can tell when the brotherhood has failed in your raid. Listen to the chat on vent when you have a break, if it is silence then something is wrong. Most likely if it is silent, some one in your raid failed and then someone else was disrespectful. This puts a palatable tension in the environment. This tension saps all fun out with it, like a fog pushing out a sunny spring day.

I know you are now asking yourself how do I help the person that is failing the group if I can’t point out his mistake. The answer is that you do it silently. Praise in public, punish in private. I have often whispered to somebody that they needed to use a flask, but I would never shout it out across vent. The difference is in the respect factor. I respect my friends enough to let them know they are making a mistake without pointing out their mistake to everyone else. This gives them the opportunity to fix it, without drawing unwanted attention to themselves.

I know there are some that would say this kind of respect is earned and not just given, but I disagree. This kind of respect should be given to all persons who cross your path, both in-game and out. This kind of respect will earn you their respect and even their friendship. I have many friends in-game (some of whom followed me to a different server) that I have shown this respect to and have learned to trust. These are the people I call brother. (or in one case wife) These are the people I choose to spend time with. These are the people whose dignity I try to protect. TO MY BROTHERS…..

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the fire.

~ by firemantony on May 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
