Jack of all trades, master of none.

Some firefighters who have looked at my about page might suggest that I am a jack of all trades on the firefighter side of the world. I would disagree, I have lots of certifications, but my best work is still done on the structural and wildland side of firefighting. The other certifications are more to improve my standing in the department, to make me look on paper as good as anyone else on the department. There are many other firefighters that have different areas of expertise. (Like Airport Rescue or Hazmat) The fact, that we all share a common core of information but that there are area experts on the department, helps us as a department run smoother as long as we learn to rely on those experts when we need them. You will notice that I did say that we all have an area in which we excelled. (with the possible exception of brand new firefighters and even they may find areas in which they excel quickly)

Your choice in talents can often be like this. I occasionally run across the person who wants to be all things to all people but ends up being nothing to nobody. You have to specialize to be effective at your class in-game. With most specs you have to get the bottom tier talent to even be effective in that role. (The Holy Priest tree may be one to debate) I can’t even imagine what a pain it would be to heal on my Restoration Shaman without the use of Riptide. Anyone who thinks they can spread talent points evenly between all three trees and be effective is being foolish. The bad thing is that when you try to help these people they will often tell you how you are following this or that and they are doing their own thinking, to those people I say, keep thinking and learn more math. The reason people often use cookie cutter specs is because others have done the theory crafting already. If you go to Elitist Jerks they often have the numbers there for you to look at, not just the spec. (you may have to dig a bit to find the numbers) To those who are afraid of cookie cutter specs I say, go dig out the numbers, learn the relationships, prove those specs wrong. (and not just on a dummy, I am talking real math)

Another point of what I said in the first paragraph above is that often there are area experts in your guild. (Rogue expert, healing expert, tanking expert, etc) You should take advantage of those experts. These people are experts because they put the time in to read and research the information and critically think about the subject quite a bit. I often get asked rogue questions quite a bit in my guild, but I am by no means an expert on them. I do not spend the time on the web researching the rogue class enough to call myself an expert, I do however study enough to be proficient when I play my rogue. On the other hand, I might consider myself a healing expert. I do study quite a bit on healing strategy not only on my class but on all classes that heal. I even have one of each of the healing classes above level 70 so that I can see the rotations and occasionally test macros. I also spend a lot of time looking at upcoming changes to healing so that I will be able to make the necessary changes to the way I heal come next patch or next expansion. (just for some insight, be prepared, I think Cataclysm is going to be a significant expansion for healers and not in a good way. Make your OOM macros early)

The point of all this is that you need to master your one class, your main class/main spec. This will help you perform at your best on that toon. You also need to share your information when you get comfortable enough to call yourself an expert, this will raise everyone’s knowledge base a bit.

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the fire.

~ by firemantony on May 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
