Weathering the tempest before Cataclysm.

I was inspired by the weather in Utah this morning. Snow, in the middle of May. Global warming is a farce. It made me think about all the weird changes that guilds go through as the seasons change. In the next couple of weeks school will be out and that means one of two things to your guild. Either you will lose your people to summer vacation or you will see increased activity due to increased free time. This means one thing is for sure, change is in the air. Lets add to this, that some guilds are winding down on raiding as they achieve the ultimate goal of killing the Lich King and this is going to be a recipe for disaster. I would love to be able to tell you how to overcome this but I have very few words of wisdom on this matter.

Our guild, The Insiders, is currently having a mini version of this occurring as real life concerns of our raiders combined with a bit of spring fever are creating an environment where it is hard to keep the raid teams intact. (even as we create our third ten man team) Our guild leader is off and the lead guild officer is trying his best to hold things together as best he can. The hardest part is that we have lost three of our four main tanks and people are scrambling to gear up alternate tanks to fill the gaps. This has created an opportunity for me to tank in a raid if I can work by Druid up in gear enough to fill in. This excitement will keep me going till I either lose the race to having a tank worthy of ICC or till I down the Lich King on my Druid. If I pull this off I will have raided all three major roles in Wrath of the Lich King, as I have raided Ulduar on my Warlock; Ulduar, ToC, and ICC on my Shaman; and ICC with my Rogue.

I have also suggested that we could fill some time doing retro-raids in an effort to keep our people involved. Going back to Vanilla WoW and doing old raids creates some flexibility as to roles, so that people can raid on what ever character they like as long as we have enough bodies and allows us to bring people who don’t normally raid. (It also allows us to get some really good gear for those who are just entering Outlands) If a guild were so inclined they could do the same thing with level seventy raids in Outlands as well, I just like the flexibility allowed by forty man raids.

Lastly if you’re having too few people to even pull off the Vanilla Raids find a couple (three or four) friends and go back and form a dungeon team. Go level or clear old dungeons that you have not seen, or at least not seen in a while, to make the game fresh and fun. A couple of my guildies and I had recently started some low-level alts to do just that, although it has been put on hold as some of us are scrambling to gear tanks.

There are many things you can do to weather the storm until Cataclysm comes out, I hope one of these suggestions fits your bill.

Until next time,

Don’t stand in the snow. (oops I mean fire)

~ by firemantony on May 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
